Show Project InfoHide Project Info

Linda Catlin Smith

released May 12, 2021

Two pieces for cello and piano by Canadian composer Linda Catlin Smith, both performed by Anton Lukoszevieze (cello) and Kerry Yong (piano)

“In Ballad (45 minutes in duration) I was extending myself into a longer work; I wanted to make a work that could be the entire concert, that could unfold over a longer time. With Through the Low Hills (10 minutes), I was working with a very restricted vocabulary in a process of constrained variation, working and re-working just a few elements. I felt like I had an object in my hands and was turning it over and over, looking at it from different angles. With Ballad, it felt more like a journey where I was discovering unfamiliar terrains.”

Cover photograph by Anton Lukoszevieze

Apartment House: Anton Lukoszevieze (cello) and Kerry Yong (piano)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.