The Garden

Rachel Eckroth

released September 3, 2021

Pianist, composer and singer Rachel Eckroth’s first release on Rainy Days Records unveils fresh sounds from her evolving artistry. Steeped in synth orchestration, The Garden reflects a nuanced exploration of sonic impulses and inquiries alongside Eckroth’s signature layered compositions and glimmers of trance-inducing vocals. With contributions from acclaimed guitarist Nir Felder, saxophonists Donny McCaslin and Andrew Krasilnikov and modular synth master Austin White, and a core band featuring bassist Tim Lefebvre and drummer Christian Euman, The Garden emerged conceptually while Eckroth was writing new music during the pandemic. “Everything on the album has a different feel to it — different colors and textures,” says the West Coast artist. “It felt like a garden. So we just rolled with it.”

Eckroth revels in new experiences across rich, diverse musical settings. The multifaceted artist continually refines her expression, frequently collaborating as a featured guest with creative visionaries who have included Rufus Wainwright, St. Vincent, KT Tunstall, Donny McCaslin, Tia Fuller and Chris Botti. But composing during the pandemic afforded Eckroth and partner Lefebvre unique opportunities to compose and perform together. From their home in Arizona, they dug in to each other’s expressions and began… more

Rachel Eckroth – Piano, Voice, Yamaha CP70, Prophet 6, Mellotron
Tim Lefebvre – Electric Bass, Guitar
Christian Euman – Drums
Donny McCaslin – Tenor Saxophone
Andrew Krasilnikov – Soprano Saxophone
Nir Felder – Electric Guitar
Austin White – Modular Synth

Written by Rachel Eckroth
Produced by Tim Lefebvre
Executive producer – Eugene Petrushanskiy

Mixed by Jason Kingsland at Frenchtown Sound
Mastered by Ed Brooks at Resonant
Mastering Recorded at Sonic Ranch – Studio A in Tornillo, TX
Recording engineer – Felipe Castaneda
Additional recording at Big Orange Sheep, Brooklyn, NY by Christopher Benham
Overdubs made at Blackbird Sessions in Tucson, AZ
Additional recording made in Moscow, by Sasha Mashin

Album art – Vika Kogai
Photography by Eugene Petrushanskiy
Video by Eugene Petrushanskiy and Rachel Eckroth
Package design by – Dimitri Komedea, 271dsgn